Tanzania Africa Travel Tips – Tanzania travel guide, Tanzania attractions, Tanzania destinations, Tanzania travel tips, Tanzania tourism and more.

Tanzania, officially the United Republic of Tanzania, is a country in East Africa. It is bordered by Kenya and Uganda to the north; Rwanda, Burundi and the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the west; and Zambia, Malawi and Mozambique to the south. The country’s eastern border is formed by the Indian Ocean. Tanzania contains Kilimanjaro, Africa’s highest mountain.

Tanzania Flag

Tanzania Country Information

Capital Dodoma
Largest city Dar es Salaam
Official languages

Swahili (de facto)

Demonym Tanzanian
Government Unitary presidential constitutional republic
– President Jakaya Kikwete
– Prime Minister Mizengo Pinda
Legislature National Assembly
Independence from the United Kingdom
– Tanganyika 9 December 1961
– Zanzibar and Pemba 10 December 1963
– Merger 26 April 1964
– Total 945,203 km2 (31st)
364,898 sq mi
– Water (%) 6.2
– 2012 census 44,929,002 (medium)
HDI (2012) Increase 0.466 (low / 152nd)
Currency Tanzanian shilling (TZS)
Time zone EAT (UTC+3)
– Summer (DST) not observed (UTC+3)
Drives on the left
Calling code +255b
ISO 3166 code TZ
Internet TLD .tz