Swaziland Africa Travel Tips – Swaziland travel guide, Swaziland attractions, Swaziland destinations, Swaziland travel tips, Swaziland tourism and more.

Swaziland, officially the Kingdom of Swaziland (Swazi: Umbuso weSwatini), and sometimes called Ngwane or Swatini, is a landlocked country in Southern Africa, bordered to the north, south and west by South Africa, and to the east by Mozambique. The nation, as well as its people, are named after the 19th century king Mswati II.

Swaziland is a small country, no more than 200 kilometres (120 mi) north to south and 130 kilometres (81 mi) east to west. The western half is mountainous, descending to a lowveld region to the east. The eastern border with Mozambique and South Africa is dominated by the escarpment of the Lebombo Mountains. The climate is temperate in the west, but may reach 40 °C (104 °F) in summer in the lowveld. Rainfall occurs mainly in the summer and may reach 2 metres (6.6 ft) in the west.

Swaziland Flag

Swaziland Country Information

Capital Lobamba (royal / legislative)
Mbabane (administrative)
26°19′S 31°8′E
Largest city Mbabane
Official languages


Demonym Swazi
Government Unitary parliamentary absolute constitutional monarchy
– Monarch King Mswati III
– Ndlovukati Queen Ntombi
– Prime Minister Barnabas Sibusiso Dlamini
– Deputy Prime Minister Themba N. Masuku
Legislature Parliament of Swaziland
– Upper house Senate
– Lower house House of Assembly
– from British mandate 6 September 1968
– Total 17,364 km2 (157th)
6,704 sq mi
– Water (%) 0.9
– 2009 estimate 1,185,000 (154th)
– 2007 census 1,018,449
– Density 68.2/km2 (135th)
176.8/sq mi
GDP (PPP) 2011 estimate
– Total $6.233 billion (medium / 140th)
Currency Lilangeni (SZL)
Time zone SAST (UTC+2)
Drives on the left
Calling code +268
ISO 3166 code SZ
Internet TLD .sz