South Sudan

South Sudan Africa Travel Tips – South Sudan travel guide, South Sudan attractions, South Sudan destinations, South Sudan travel tips, South Sudan tourism and more.

South Sudan, officially the Republic of South Sudan and previously known as Southern Sudan, is a landlocked country in east-central Africa that is part of the United Nations subregion of Eastern Africa. Its current capital is Juba, which is also its largest city; the capital city is planned to be moved to the more centrally located Ramciel in the future.South Sudan is bordered by Ethiopia to the east, Kenya to the southeast, Uganda to the south, the Democratic Republic of the Congo to the southwest, the Central African Republic to the west and Sudan to the north. It includes the vast swamp region of the Sudd, formed by the White Nile and known locally as the Bahr al Jabal.

South Sudan Flag

South Sudan Country Information

Capital and largest city Juba
04°51′N 31°36′E
Official languages English (94th)
– Density 13.33/km2 (214th)
34.52/sq mi
GDP (PPP) 2011 estimate
– Total $21.123 billon
– Per capita $2,134
GDP (nominal) 2011 estimate
– Total $13.227 billion
– Per capita $1,546
Currency South Sudanese pound (SSP)
Time zone East Africa Time (UTC+3)
Drives on the right
Calling code +211
ISO 3166 code SS
Internet TLD .ssa