Nigeria Africa Travel Tips – Nigeria travel guide, Nigeria attractions, Nigeria destinations, Nigeria travel tips, Nigeria tourism and more.

Other details and information about Nigeria Africa

Nigeria, officially the Federal Republic of Nigeria, is a federal constitutional republic comprising 36 states and its Federal Capital Territory, Abuja. The country is located in West Africa and shares land borders with the Republic of Benin in the west, Chad and Cameroon in the east, and Niger in the north. Its coast in the south lies on the Gulf of Guinea on the Atlantic Ocean. The three largest and most influential ethnic groups in Nigeria are the Hausa, Igbo and Yoruba.

The name Nigeria was taken from the Niger River running through the country

Nigeria is roughly divided in half between Muslims, concentrated mostly in the north, and Christians, who mostly live in the South. A very small minority practice traditional religions, although the rate of syncretism is high.

Nigeria Flag

Nigeria Country Information

Capital Abuja
9°4′N 7°29′E
Largest city Lagos
Official languages English
Major languages Hausa, Igbo, Yoruba
Other languages Edo, Efik, Fulani, Idoma, Ijaw, Kanuri, Itsekiri, Urhobo-Isoko, Igala, Igbira, Nupe, Ibibio, Gwari, Tiv, Birom, Margi, Jukun, Katab (7th)
– 2006 census 140,431,790
– Density 184.2/km2 (71st)
477.0/sq mi
GDP (PPP) 2011 estimate
– Total $413.402 billion (low / 156th)
Currency Naira (₦) (NGN)
Time zone WAT (UTC+1)
– Summer (DST) not observed (UTC+1)
Drives on the right
Calling code +234
ISO 3166 code NG
Internet TLD .ng