Malawi Africa Travel Tips – Malawi travel guide, Malawi attractions, Malawi destinations, Malawi travel tips, Malawi tourism and more.

Other details and information about Malawi Africa

Malawi, officially the Republic of Malawi, is a landlocked country in southeast Africa that was formerly known as Nyasaland. It is bordered by Zambia to the northwest, Tanzania to the northeast, and Mozambique on the east, south and west. The country is separated from Tanzania and Mozambique by Lake Malawi. Malawi is over 118,000 km2 (45,560 sq mi) with an estimated population of more than 13,900,000. Its capital is Lilongwe, which is also Malawi’s largest city; the second largest is Blantyre and the third is Mzuzu. The name Malawi comes from the Maravi, an old name of the Nyanja people that inhabit the area. The country is also nicknamed “The Warm Heart of Africa”.

Malawi Flag

Malawi Country Information

and largest city Lilongwe
13°57′S 33°42′E
Official languages


Ethnic groups (2008)

32.6% Chewa
17.6% Lomwe
13.5% Yao
11.5% Ngoni
8.8% Tumbuka
5.8% Nyanja
3.6% Sena
2.1% Tonga
1.0% Ngonde
3.5% others

Demonym Malawian
Government Unitary presidential republic
– President Joyce Banda
– Vice President Khumbo Kachali
Legislature National Assembly
– from the United Kingdom July 6, 1964
– Total 118,484 km2 (99th)
45,747 sq mi
– Water (%) 20.6%
– 2010 estimate 14,901,000 (64th)
– 1998 census 9,933,868 (low / 171st)
Currency Kwacha (D) (MWK)
Time zone CAT (UTC+2)
– Summer (DST) not observed (UTC+2)
Drives on the left
Calling code +265
ISO 3166 code MW
Internet TLD .mw