Guinea Africa Travel Tips – Guinea travel guide, Guinea attractions, Guinea destinations, Guinea travel tips, Guinea tourism and more.

Guinea, officially the Social Secular Democratic Republic of Guinea (French: République démocratique, laïque et sociale de Guinée), is a country in West Africa. Formerly known as French Guinea (Guinée française), it is today sometimes called Guinea-Conakry or SDR Guinea to distinguish it from its neighbour Guinea-Bissau and the Republic of Equatorial Guinea. It has a population of 10,057,975 and an area of 246,000 square kilometres (94,981 sq mi). Forming a crescent as it curves from its western border on the Atlantic Ocean toward the east and the south, it shares its northern border with Guinea-Bissau, Senegal, and Mali, and its southern border with Sierra Leone, Liberia, and Côte d’Ivoire. The sources of the Niger River, Gambia River, and Senegal River are all found in the Guinea Highlands.

Conakry is Guinea’s capital, largest city, and economic centre. Other major cities in the country include Kankan, Nzérékoré, Kindia, Labe, Guéckédou, Mamou and Boke.

Guinea Flag

Guinea Country Information

and largest city Conakry
9°31′N 13°42′W
Official languages French


Ethnic groups

40% Fula (Peuhl)
30% Mandingo (Malinke)
20% Susu (Soussou)
10% others

Demonym Guinean
Government Presidential republic
– President Alpha Condé
– Prime Minister Mohamed Said Fofana
Legislature National Assembly
– from France 2 October 1958
– Total 245,857 km2 (78th)
94,926 sq mi
– Water (%) negligible
– July 2009 estimate 10,057,975 (81st)
– 1996 census 7,156,407
– Density 40.9/km2
106.1/sq mi
GDP (PPP) 2011 estimate
– Total $11.464 billion
– Per capita $1,082
GDP (nominal) 2011 estimate
– Total $5.212 billion
– Per capita $492
Gini (1994) 40.3 (medium)
HDI (2010) Increase 0.340 (low / 156th)
Currency Guinean franc (GNF)
Time zone (UTC+0)
Drives on the right
Calling code +224
Internet TLD .gn