Equatorial Guinea

Equatorial Guinea Africa Travel Tips – Equatorial Guinea travel guide, Equatorial Guinea attractions, Equatorial Guinea destinations, Equatorial Guinea travel tips, Equatorial Guinea tourism and more.

Equatorial Guinea, officially the Republic of Equatorial Guinea, is a country located in Middle Africa. With an area of 28,000 square kilometres (11,000 sq mi) Equatorial Guinea is one of the smallest countries in continental Africa. It has two parts, an insular and a mainland region. The insular region, consists of the islands of Bioko (formerly Fernando Pó), in the Gulf of Guinea, and Annobón, a small volcanic island south of the equator. Bioko island is the northernmost part of Equatorial Guinea and is where the country’s capital, Malabo, is situated. The island nation of São Tomé and Príncipe is located between Bioko and Annobón. The mainland region, (Río Muni) is bordered by Cameroon on the north, Gabon on the south and east. It also includes several small offshore islands (such as Corisco, Elobey Grande and Elobey Chico).

Equatorial Guinea Flag

Equatorial Guinea Country Information

Capital Malabob
3°45′N 8°47′E
Largest city Bata
Official languages

Spanish (administrative)

Recognized regional

Pidgin English

Ethnic groups (1994)

85.7% Fang
6.5% Bubi
3.6% Ndowe
1.6% Annobon
1.1% Bujeba (Kwasio)
1.4% othersa


Equatorial Guinean

Government Unitary semi-presidential republic
– President Teodoro Obiang Nguema Mbasogo
– Prime Minister Vicente Ehate Tomi
Legislature Chamber of People’s Representatives
– from Spain 12 October 1968
– Total 28,050 km2 (144th)
10,830 sq mi
– Water (%) negligible
– 2009 estimate 676,000 (166th)
– Density 24.1/km2 (187th)
62.4/sq mi
GDP (PPP) 2010 estimate
– Total $24.146 billion (medium / 117th)
Currency Central African CFA franc (XAF)
Time zone WAT (UTC+1)
– Summer (DST) not observed (UTC+1)
Drives on the right
Calling code +240
ISO 3166 code GQ
Internet TLD .gq