Congo Republic

Congo Republic Africa Travel Tips – Congo Republic travel guide, Congo Republic attractions, Congo Republic destinations, Congo Republic travel tips, Congo Republic tourism and more.

The Republic of the Congo (French: République du Congo), also referred to as Congo-Brazzaville, is a country located in Central Africa. It is bordered by Gabon, Cameroon, the Central African Republic, the Democratic Republic of the Congo and the Angolan exclave of Cabinda.

The region was dominated by Bantu-speaking tribes, who built trade links leading into the Congo River basin. Congo-Brazzaville was formerly part of the French colony of Equatorial Africa. Upon independence in 1960, the former colony of French Congo became the Republic of the Congo. The People’s Republic of the Congo was a Marxist-Leninist single-party state from 1970 to 1991. Multiparty elections have been held since 1992, although a democratically elected government was ousted in the 1997 Republic of the Congo Civil War.

Congo Republic Flag

Congo Republic Country Information:

(and largest city) Brazzaville
4°16′S 15°17′E
Official languages French
Recognised regional languages


Ethnic groups

48% Kongo
20% Sangha
17% Teke
12% M’Bochi
3% Europeans / others

Demonym Congolese
Government Dominant-party presidential republic
– President Denis Sassou Nguesso
Legislature Parliament
– Upper house Senate
– Lower house National Assembly
– from France August 15, 1960
– Total 342,000 km2 (64th)
132,047 sq mi
– Water (%) 3.3
– 2012 estimate 4,366,266 (128th)
– Density 12.8/km2 (204th)
33.1/sq mi
GDP (PPP) 2011 estimate
– Total $18.250 billion
– Per capita $4,589
GDP (nominal) 2011 estimate
– Total $14.769 billion
– Per capita $3,713
HDI (2011) Steady 0.533 (medium) (126th)
Currency Central African CFA franc (XAF)
Time zone WAT (UTC+1)
Drives on the right
Calling code +242
ISO 3166 code CG
Internet TLD .cg